I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 318-30 (COR)

Introduced by:

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

R. J. Respicio

T. R. Muña Barnes

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

F. F. Blas, Jr.

E. J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

J. V. Espaldon

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

Telo Taitague

Ray Tenorio

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing Guam's Certified Government Financial Managers (CGFM) of the Association of Government Accountants, Guam Chapter, in celebration of March 2010 as "CGFM Month".

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINATRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Association of Government Accountants (AGA) is a professional organization with a network of fifteen thousand (15,000) members in over one hundred (100) chapters across the United States and around the world, and representing state, federal, local and private sector government accountability professionals; and

WHEREAS, the AGA, Guam Chapter, has one hundred sixty-five (165) members who work to uphold AGA's mission of Advancing Government Accountability, as they continue their broad educational efforts, with an emphasis on high standards of conduct, honor and character in their *Code of Ethics*, and they are making significant advances, both in professional ability and in service to the citizens of Guam, by mastering increasingly technical and complex requirements; and

WHEREAS, the Certified Government Financial Manager (CGFM) Program of AGA provides a means of demonstrating professionalism and competency by requiring CGFM candidates, twenty-four (24) of which are from the AGA, Guam Chapter, to have appropriate education and professional experience, to abide by AGA's *Code of Ethics*, and to pass three (3) examinations requiring expertise in Governmental Environment, Governmental Financial Management and Control, and Governmental Accounting, Financial Reporting and Budgeting, and requires each CGFM to

- 1 maintain certification by completing at least eighty (80) hours of continuing
- 2 professional education in government financial management topics, or related
- 3 technical subjects, every two (2) years; and
- 4 **WHEREAS**, the AGA CGFM Guam team is led by Doreen T.
- 5 Crisostomo, Ph.D, who is the CGFM Director for the AGA-Guam Chapter and
- 6 the overall CGFM Coordinator for the AGA-Pacific Rim; the AGA-Guam
- 7 Chapter is led by President Jojo Guevara III, CGFM; and the Vice President of
- 8 the AGA-Pacific Rim, AGA-Guam Chapter is Zeny Asuncion-Nace, CGFM,
- 9 CPA, CFE; and
- 10 WHEREAS, these dedicated individuals lead a passionate group of
- 11 people in the government financial management profession, which is
- 12 characterized by its efforts to achieve common objectives and by its
- 13 observance of certain fundamental principles; these AGA CGFM members
- 14 must adhere to ethical requirements to ensure the highest quality of
- 15 performance and to maintain public confidence in the profession; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules, of *I Mina'Trenta Na*
- 18 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 19 people of Guam, recognize Guam's Certified Government Financial Managers
- 20 (CGFM) of the Association of Government Accountants, Guam Chapter, in
- 21 celebration of March 2010 as "CGFM Month"; and be it further

- 1 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 2 Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and
- 3 that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Doreen T. Crisostomo,
- 4 Ph.D CGFM Director, AGA-Guam Chapter & CGFM Coordinator, AGA-
- 5 Pacific Rim; to Jojo Guevara III, CGFM President, AGA-Guam Chapter; to
- 6 Zeny Asuncion-Nace, CGFM, CPA, CFE Vice President, AGA-Pacific Rim &
- 7 AGA-Guam Chapter; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 8 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 23RD DAY OF MARCH, 2010.

JUDITH T.WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

ROŔY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Legislative Secretary